How To Get Marijuana Card For Medical Purposes In Texas?
In the state of Texas, which is located in the United States, the use of cannabis for medicinal or recreational purposes is against the law. However, since 2015, low-THC CBD oil has been approved for use in treating epilepsy. Even though Governor Abbot of Texas signed SB 399, also known as the Texas Compassionate Use Act, in June of 2015, the application of the law has been delayed, and it is one of the most restricted in the country. Because of this law, patients can now obtain cannabis with a lower THC content. Products derived from cannabis are considered to have a low level of THC if they contain at least 10 percent cannabidiol but omit more than 0.5 percent delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol. The state legislature of Texas has broadened the range of ailments that are now eligible for the medicinal use of cannabis with a low THC content. Because smoking dried flowers and growing cannabis at home are against the law, users are restricted to only being able to consume items that can be ingested.
To legally qualify for medical cannabis in Texas, you need to have medical marijuana prescriptions from two different qualified physicians. To get medical cannabis card in 2022, you must meet the following requirements:
- You must be a permanent resident of Texas;
- You must have been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition by a licensed medical marijuana physician; and
- You must have medical marijuana prescriptions from two different qualified physicians.
The secondary physician doesn’t need to have direct contact with the patient. The primary doctor can confer with a secondary doctor on the patient’s condition to receive authorization. There is no upper age limit. According to the law, patients are not needed to register or pay any kind of charge. The Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT), on the other hand, is where patient information will be stored.
How To Get Your Medical Marijuana Card In The State Of Texas?
- Book An Appointment
Make an appointment to see a marijuana doctor in Texas who specializes in medicinal marijuana at a time that is most convenient for you. You will need to provide some basic medical history as well as schedule an appointment with a medical marijuana Texas doctor who is licensed.
- Consult With An Mmj Doctor
You should schedule a 15-minute appointment with a trained medical professional to discuss your current conditions and any questions or concerns you may have regarding the use of medical marijuana as a therapy. Following the conclusion of the visit, the attending physician will complete a referral form for medicinal marijuana and give their approval.
- Get Approved
After you have been given permission, the physician who recommended you will submit your information to the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT). Your application will be processed by the state, at which point dispensaries will be able to search for you in their database and provide you with your prescription by its contents.
In the state of Texas, patients will be required to re-certify their license every year by once again consulting with a qualified physician.
Medical Conditions That Are Eligible For Treatment With Marijuana Under Texas Law
According to the laws of state of Texas, the Compassionate Use Program is only available to patients in Texas who suffer from one of the following conditions:
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (for veterans);
- Chronic pain that is generally managed by opioids;
- Seizure disorders;
- Multiple sclerosis;
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis;
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis;
- Motor neuron disease
- Spinal muscular atrophy
- Friedreich’s ataxia
- Charcot Marie Tooth disorder
- Huntington’s disease
- Cancer (both terminal and non-terminal)
- Parkinson’s disease
- An incurable neurodegenerative disease